- Elite League Riders Championship
- Premier Lge Riders Championship
- National Lge Riders Championship

                                                   also embracing:  -                                                                                  
  •  Provincial Lge Riders Chmpshp,
  • Conference Lge Riders Chmpshp,
  • Southern Area Lge Riders Chmpshp,
  • Nat'l Lge Div.2 & Div.3 Riders Chmpshps,
  • British Lge Div.1 & Div.2 Riders Chmpshps.




1,2,3 of the first PLRC,
 Cradley Heath, 1960:
 Eric Hockaday,  Rayleigh, (3rd),
 Ken Middleditch,  Poole,   (2nd),
 Trevor Redmond, Bristol, (1st).

     Today's present three League Riders Championship competitions have their genesis in the Provincial League Riders Championship (PrvLRC) of the early 1960s which in turn became the British League Riders Championship (BLRC) after the amalgamation in 1965 of the UK's two speedway leagues, the Provincial League and the National League, and which has run continuously every year without exception.

     There were however spasmodic 'LRCs even earlier, including a pre-war Provincial Lge Riders Championship won by ex-Wembley rider George Greenwood, and in the 'fifties National Lge and SAL Riders Championships, as listed below.

Pictured rt: Leo McAuliffe receives the 1956
SAL.LRC trophy from Al Sparrey.

Early League Riders Championships

1957 Line-up for the SAL Riders Championship: 

Stdg: Ron Walton, Maury Conway, Tommy Sweetman, Allen Lunn, Pat Flanagan, Bryan Meredith, Pete Mould, Les Searle, Brian Brett; Frt: Ross Gilbertson, Leo McAuliffe, Noel Conway, Bobby Croombs, Dave Still, Ronnie Rolfe, Jimmy Heard.

Present Day League Riders Championships : -
                   - Elite LRC,   - Premier LRC,    - National LRC 
                                           plus  - British, - BL2, - BL3, - Br.Acy  - Provincial  LRCs


     This senior competition was briefly designated the Premier League Riders Championship in '95 & '96 following another amalgamation, before the emergence of a more senior 'Elite League', whence the PLRC became the second tier event, i.e. their two Riders Championships became corresponding League Riders Championships, - the ELRC and the PLRC.

    Concurrent with the senior BLRC competion, the UK's second divisions during the '70s and '80s, (BL Div.2 > National League,) ran their own similar League Riders Championship, today designated the Premier League Riders Championship, PLRC, whilst from 1994 the junior UK league, - i.e. third tier league - , also operated a Riders Championship, initially known as the Conference League Riders Championship, (CLRC), - today's National League Riders Championship, NLRC.

     The premise of the Championships is that each team in the league is represented by its top scorer, as identified by his league points average, this number being made up to meeting complement, usually 16+2, by the riders with next highest averages, i.e. the second from their team, until the complement is filled. (To accommodate large leagues of the past, complement has at times been 24 plus reserves.) Over the past decade participation in the ELRC has been undermined by rider involvement in multiple European leagues, commitment thereto, and financial attractions offered, such that places by invitation has been necessary. For 2014 the competition has been revised and renamed the Elite Riders Championship, - "The ERC" - , and raced not at the end of the season but at the beginning.

     Held traditionally at Belle Vue for 30 years, Barry Briggs dominated the competition in its British League period from the onset, with a record 6 consecutive wins. Mauger and Olsen each total 4 wins (broken,) though the former's included 2 at the lower Provincial Lge. level. The Danes have totalled 13 wins through 6 riders thus far: the Kiwis 11, but achieved by just 3 men, - Briggs, Mauger and Redmond.

                         ELRC 2014: Maciej Janowski Poole, (2nd), Troy Batchelor (Swindon, WINNER), Jason Doyle (Leicester 3rd)

                                   2010 & 2016 Elite Lge Riders Champions, Freddie Lindgren, Wolverhampton.


     Following the same premise as for the senior league, the British League Div'n 2 Riders Championship commenced with that league's formation in 1968. There was a league name change in 1975, and again in '97. The UK's third Riders Championship was first raced in 1994 and continues today as the National Lge Riders Championship.

    All Premier and Conference/National Lge. champions were first time winners, - understandably, as most could be expected to progress to a senior league level - , except for Carl Stonehewer's second win of 2001.

           Phil Crump, Crewe                                                     Lee Smart, D.Heathens                                       Jason Garrity, BV Colts
           BL2RC W'don 1972                                                      NLRC Rye Hse 2010                                           NLRC Rye Hse 2011    

               Simon Stead, Sheffield                                           Dan Halsey, Mildenhall
                 PLRC  Sheffield  2014                                          NLRC  Rye House     2014


 More League Riders Championship programmes HERE  

  Next page