n.b:, Update 2017: First & second tier leagues
renamed as the Premiership and the Championship.

- Elite League Riders Championship
- Premier Lge Riders Championship
  - National Lge Riders Championship

                                                   also embracing:  -                                                                                  
  •  Provincial Lge Riders Chmpshp,
  • Conference Lge Riders Chmpshp,
  • Southern Area Lge Riders Chmpshp,
  • Nat'l Lge Div.2 & Div.3 Riders Chmpshps,
  • British Lge Div.1 & Div.2 Riders Chmpshps.


    Today's present three League Riders Championship competitions have their genesis in the LRCs of the Southern Area League in the 1950s. There had been odd instances of League Riders Championship stagings before and after WWII, at Nottingham in '36, at Belle Vue (as neutral Northern Lge. host) in '46, plus two National Lge Div'n III gathering of its top rider at neutral Walthamstow in 1951 and at Cardiff the following year.
     In their formation year of 1954 the Southern Area League started an annual championship which was fed by qualifying meetings at each of their participating tracks. Subsumed in 1960 into the much expanded country-wide Provincial Lge, eliminating rounds continued to be the qualification route to the LRC Final until the amalgamation of the Provincial Lge. with the National Lge. in 1965.  Thereon in, (with senior league riders now involved for the first time,) the premise for the British League Riders Championship, (BLRC), was that each team in the league was represented by its top scorer, as identified by his league points average, the number being made up to meeting complement, usually 16+2, by the riders with next highest averages, i.e. the second from their team, until the complement was filled. Held for almost 30 years at Belle Vue, the BLRC became the ELRC at the emergence of the Elite Lge.
     Concurrent with the then senior BLRC competition, the UK's second divisions during the '70s and '80s, (BL Div.2 > National League,) ran their own similar League Riders Championship, which morphed into the Premier Lge. RC in 1997, whilst from 1994 the junior UK league, - i.e. third tier league - , also operated a Riders Championship, initially known as the Conference League Riders Championship, (CLRC), - today's National League Riders Championship, NLRC.
     After 20 years as the Elite Lge. and the Premier Lge., in 2017 UK speedway's two senior leagues were re-named as the 'Premiership' and the 'Championship', (thereby aligning with UK football's terminology,) and the end-of-season Riders Championships re-designated accordingly, superseding the ELRC and PLRC.

Early League Riders Championships


1957 Line-up for the SAL Riders Championship @ Eastbourne, (+ programme, below rt)

Stdg: Ron Walton, Maury Conway, Tommy Sweetman, Allen Lunn, Pat Flanagan, Bryan Meredith, Pete Mould, Les Searle, Brian Brett; Frt: Ross Gilbertson, Leo McAuliffe, Noel Conway, Bobby Croombs, Dave Still, Ronnie Rolfe, Jimmy Heard.

1,2,3  of the first PLRC,  Cradley Heath, 1960:

Rt. to Lt, Trevor Redmond, Bristol, (1st), Ken Middleditch, Poole, (2nd), Eric Hockaday, Rayleigh, (3rd).


BLRC  &  ELRC,  (1965 - 2016)


     Held traditionally at Belle Vue for almost 30 years, (to where, on a new track, the senior LRCchampionship returned in 2017,) Barry Briggs dominated the competition in its British League period from the onset, with a record 6 consecutive wins. Mauger, Olsen and Phil Crump each total 4 wins (broken,) though the former's included 2 at the lower Provincial Lge. level. The Danes have totaled 13 wins through 6 riders thus far: the Kiwis 11, but achieved by just 3 men, - Briggs, Mauger and Redmond.



National Champions:-
 - of major speedway countries, 
 - of minor speedway countries, 
 - U21 & Youth.

European Champions
    (& European Champs Cup), 
 - FIM Internationale,  - Nordic Champions
 - Continental Final,   - Intercontinental Final;
 - Commonwealth Champions,  
 - Overseas Champions;
 - Baltic Cup, East.Gy,  - Baltic Cup, Poland.
League Champions:-
 - UK  1st, 2nd & 3rd tier
   speedway league champions.
 - Europe:-  Sweden, Denmark, Poland,
   Germany, East Gy, Czechia, Russia/USSR.

League Riders Championships:-
 - ELRC, - PremLRC, - NLRC,
 - ProvLRC,   - SAL.RC.

Memorial Trophy meetings:-
 - Alan Hunt MT,     - Peter Craven MT,
 - Tom Fardon MT,   -
Tommy Jansson MT,
 - Lubos Tomicek MT,   -
Ivor Hughes MT,
 - Alfred Smoczyk MT.

Other UK status events:-
 - Brandonapolis,    - Olympique,
 - Blue Riband,       - The Laurels,

World Champions:-
 - Speedway,    - Long Track,  
 - Ice Racing,    - U21/U19/Yth, 
 - Youth Gold Trophies.

Golden Helmet & Silver Helmet events;
  MRCs and individual competitions:-
 - British GH (1st tier) MRC, - British SH (2nd tier) MRC,
 - Silver Sash MRC, - British BzH (3rd tier) MRC;
 - Australian GHs  pre-War,  - Austr. GHs post-War,
 - NZ GHs pre + post;
 - English GHs & SHs pre-War, 
 - Scottish GHs & SHs pre-War,
 - other UK Gold & Silver trophies;
 - Argentinian Gold, Silver & Bronze Helmet MRCs;
 - S.African GHs & SHs,   - Rhodesian GHs & SHs;
 - Czecho/CSSR GH,       - Slovakian GH;
 - Dutch GH,   - Belgium GH,   - Yugoslav GH,
 - Danish GH, - Polish GH, SH, BzH;
 - other gold-status trophies: 
     - G.Key, G.Bar, G.Hammer, G.Gala,
        Silver Steelshoe, Master of Speedway;

Regional Champions
  UK:  - London Riders Chmpshp,
          - Midland RC,  - Northern RC, 
          - Scottish Open, (+ jnrs,)
 USA: - US State Chmpshps,
          - US Track Chmpshps.
          - Aust. State Chmpshps

Long Track Championships:-
 - Germany,  - East Germany,  - Czechia, 
 - Russia,  - USSR,  - Estonia,
 - Swededn,  - Norway,  - Denmark, 
 - Norway,  - Nordic/Scand'n,
 - Australian(+GPs),  - New Zealand(+GPs),
 - USA, - Canada,  (+ Gt.Britain Lts).

Grass Track Championships:-
 - UK: - 500cc, - 350cc, - 250cc, - U21.
 - Europe:  - European,  - Germany(ADAC SH),
 - East Germany,  - France,  - Holland.
    + other high-status Gr.Trk ….......

Ice Racing Championships:-
 - European Chmpshp,  - Nordic Chmpshp,
 - Finland,   - Sweden,   - Russia (+Jnr),
 - USSR,  - Germany, - Czechia, - Switzerland,
 - Austria, - Holland,   - Ukraine,
 - Kazakstan,  - Mongolia,  (+ Gt.Britain.)
 + other individual trophy meetings:-
    (Golden Spike, Master of Spikes,
     Santa Cup, ….
     ...... )
     ( 'speedway-on-ice'  British Open Chmpshp.)